Reserve Your Room at the historic 1898 Waverly Inn Bed & Breakfast

Book Now 800-537-8195

We truly enjoyed our visit.  The warmth of your staff, experiencing Southern Hospitality, our room and social hour are terrific!  What a breakfast!  ~ Albuquerque, NM 1898 Waverly Inn Bed & Breakfast 800-537-8195
QR code for 1898 Waverly Inn

1898 Waverly Inn Reviews

Fodors Review of 1898 Waverly Inn

1898 Waverly Inn Review

On a warm afternoon you'll love to "sit a spell" in a rocking chair on the front porch of Hendersonville's oldest inn. All 15 rooms in the 1898 three-story Victorian, two blocks from downtown, are named after native flowers and shrubs and outfitted with antique furnishings. The Mountain Magnolia suite has a canopy bed, and the Silverbell room, painted an airy yellow and white, has a four-poster bed and a claw-foot bathtub. Rates include a cooked-to-order breakfast.

Go to Fodors  >
(Page will open in a new window.)

Verified Reviews from Expedia

Friendly staff, excellent homemade breakfast Posted Aug 26, 2014

Pros: everything was wonderful
Location: shopping, golf excellent restaurants hiking, galleries
The place had excellent homemade breakfast every morning and lovely wine and cheese party on the front porch every evening

Terrific stay Posted Jul 22, 2014

Beautiful B&B, well maintained. Great location, friendly owner and staff, comfortable rooms, TERRIFIC breakfast! Definitely coming back!

Best B&B Ever Posted Jun 23, 2014

Pros: Charming southern home, staff owners, breakfasts
Cons: I wish I could have stayed longer!!!

Location: We went to Chimney Rock I had been in the area before so we walked around. Great restaurants and downtown few minutes walk from hotel.

If you have never tried B&B this would be a good place to start if you are in Hendersonville. You will never go back to hotels. The place is beautiful every last little touch taken care of and it is so quaint and romantic. The breakfasts are amazing and I have never had French toast like I had at Waverly. The staff and owners are great people and the drinks on the porch every day allowed us to meet the other guests and some wonderful people. I wish I could rate this property even higher than a 5 because it is so unique and beautiful it deserves it own special category. The rooms are so unique each one different and oozing charm and style. I will always stay there in the future.

Convenient location in Hendersonville Posted May 24, 2014

We were staying in Hendersonville for a few days visiting friends and were recommended The Waverly. The hotel is homely with lots of character and the location is walking distance to the centre of town. The staff and owners were very welcoming and helpful and nothing was too much trouble, even a very late check-in! Breakfast was excellent (freshly cooked and plenty of choice) and evening drinks with fellow residents is a really nice touch. We would definitely go back.

convenient location  Posted Apr 15, 2014

Magnificent historic home full of character and beauty. The porches are inviting and peaceful. Owners very friendly. Felt comfortable and secure. We will definitely return.

Visiting Asheville, staying small town. Posted Apr 15, 2014

Pros: It's historic ambience. I felt like I was staying in a rather large house with parlors and a dining room. We met and enjoyed the company of others.

Cons: I wanted an experience other that a motel, so I wouldn't want to change the Inn. Creaky floor boards are part of the charm.

Location: The location is just off the downtown main street of Hendersonville. Shopping and a variety of dining experiences are a short stroll away.

We wanted to enjoy the Asheville area and attend The Mother Earth News Fair happening just down the road, and do it in such a way as to meet the real people of the area and enjoy some southern hospitality. The 1898 Waverly Inn provided us with the perfect place to stay to enjoy ourselves. Located next to historic downtown Hendersonville, shopping and fine dining (lots of great choices) were an easy stroll away. Evening cocktails on the expansive front porch were where we met the innkeepers and those staying at the Inn as guests, sharing life stories and the day's experiences in the cool evening air. Not so surprising is the fact that guests return year after year. Breakfasts are included in the stay, and rate 5 stars for variety and quality. Guests are spoiled by the wait staff, experiencing that famous southern hospitality. The total experience of The 1898 Waverly Inn takes you back to an earlier time, where life's pace might have been a little less hectic, and more enjoyable.

Bed & Breakfast with History Posted Mar 10, 2014

Pros: The gracious hostesses, delicious breakfasts, comfy bed.

We wanted to stay at a Bed and Breakfast with history and this had it. This B&B was one of the oldest in Hendersonville so expect staying in a "old" inn with creaky floors, lovely 4 poster beds, footed-tubs from yesteryear, but also expect wonderful hostesses. The breakfast was delicious every morning with too much to choose from.

The Best B & B without a doubt !! Posted Jan 12, 2014

We had the best treatment from all the staff, the owners are very hands on and always present on site.... I would recommend anyone to the Waverly without any regrets ....

yearly trip to hendersonville nc Posted Dec 07, 2013

I am little on words just right to the point. If you want to make your better half really happy break to normal hotel stay and stay here and see the better side of staying away from home. The service, the room, the out of the world breakfast, location, just all a round the very best. We will continue doing this at least once a year probably more. Find out for yourself, give them a call.

See more reviews on Expedia >
(Page will open in a new window.)

Reviews from Trip Advisor

“Great place for a girl's weekend!!” Reviewed November 15, 2014

5 of 5 stars We really enjoyed staying at the 1898 Waverly Inn. Our room was so much bigger than I expected. The daily breakfast specials were sooo delicious, especially the apple cider syrup!!! The owners made us feel like it was our home. We especially liked spending our evenings in the living room with a glass of wine and a piece of their homemade cake! The antique furnishings were gorgeous!! We will definitely stay there again!!!!

“Great Bed and Breakfast!” Reviewed November 3, 2014

5 of 5 stars The Waverly Inn is wonderful! The rooms are very, very comfortable, the evening wine (try the apple wine – you are in apple country here) with cheese and crackers offers a nice chance to chat with other guests and with the charming owners.

Breakfast was outstanding! One morning we had pecan pancakes and the next pumpkin bread French toast! At anytime you may help yourself to a piece of homemade cake…one of the owners is a terrific baker. Coffee and hot chocolate also are available anytime.

The central location makes it easy to walk to downtown Hendersonville where there is so much to see and do, from great restaurants, pubs with music, an independent bookstore and many interesting and unique shops.

We would highly recommend the Waverly Inn especially if you would like to stay in a classic, mountain resort Inn!

“Felt Like Home!” Reviewed November 3, 2014

5 of 5 stars In my opinion the family owned establishments are always preferable to the chains and this proved no exception. I was allowed to check in 1.5 hours early, offered complimentary home-made cake and snacks, I was clearly pointed in the direction of a nice place to go for a run, and I enjoyed the company for complimentary wine and cheese in the evening. Breakfast was quick, fresh cooked and delicious. Owners and other staff were extremely nice. The room itself was spotless and felt just like home. Probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. I was there for an interview, but would love to come back for a romantic getaway with my husband as Hendersonville is lovely and so is the surrounding area.

“Un endroit raffiné”   Reviewed August 18, 2014

I wish you all could experience this wonderful stay at the Waverly Inn Hendersonville nc. It´s just beautiful. Je vous invite tous a venir a hendersonville et savoure les vues multicolore and magnifique des blue ridge mountains. Diane and her family are so kind, they all look happy to share!

“THE place to stay in Hendersonville, NC”    Reviewed August 18, 2014

My sisters and I found 1898 Waverly Inn to be a very comfortable and relaxing bed & breakfast. The owners were friendly and we always looked forward to their delicious breakfast! I chose it because I had heard that Hendersonville had cute shops, nice antiques and good restaurants. I wanted a walkable town, not too far from the Biltmore Estate and Carl Sandburg Home. It was an easy drive to Biltmore and Ashville for day trips. Just rocking on the front porch in the evening and having complimentary wine and appetizers with the owners and other guests was quite enjoyable! I will definitely choose 1898 Waverly when I'm in that area again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the triple room, Mountain Laurel, on the second floor. Plenty of room for three women. We had a small sitting room with a TV and a desk. Claw foot tubs with showers which may be difficult for someone with a disability, but very quaint to us. All the rooms are lovely and cheerfully decorated.

“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast”  Reviewed August 4, 2014

My family and i just dropped our daughter off at Greystone for summer camp and picked the Waverly Inn because of its location and Trip Advisor reviews. Our stay from the start got better and better and better! We were within walking distance of a wonderful Japanese restaurant, UMI. Later that night it rained "cats and dogs" and nobody in my family heard a "peep" because the bed and sheets were so comfortable!! Early that morning, i had to check in to the office. There is a very large eating area with coffee, cakes and fresh cookies .....and that’s before the INCREDIBLE breakfast served later! The internet is fast and i was able to get some work done in a spacious area!!I am a big fan of the Waverly Inn and feel its in a class all its on!! Great job!! Sam Maguire, Atlanta,Ga.

Room Tip: You can’t go wrong!! Every room seemed to be of the same quality. You are on a busy road but it was quiet in the rooms and Inn.

“A Wonderful Experience”  Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family recently had a reunion in Hendersonville to celebrate 2 birthdays--an 88 year old and a 1 year old. Seven of us stayed at the Waverly Inn. The innkeepers do everything that you would hope for, and they do it very well. The accommodations are quite comfortable, the food is wonderful, and the owners are thoughtful. From my first contact with them over the phone, their responses to emails, and their help in person they are intent on meeting the needs of their guests. We look forward to enjoying their hospitality again.

Room Tip: Communicate your needs. They will help you with them.

“Friendly, Convenient and VERY comfortable!”   Reviewed June 30, 2014

Breakfast was WONDERFUL! I love the peach preserves! Everything was very clean and very comfortable. I love the deep, tub, too. I want one for my own house. There is a spa right there in the Inn. And it is walking distance from everywhere. The Inn is part of the vacation, not just a place to stay.

“Relaxation abounds at the Waverly Inn”  Reviewed June 26, 2014

It's like stepping back in time when you arrive at the Waverly Inn! The wrap around porch with old timey rockers as well as softer seating seem to invite you to sit and stay awhile. You will certainly want to once you experience the exemplary Southern Hospitality of the owners and their appetizing food and drink offerings during the afternoon social time on the porch as well as the delectable homemade treats available in the dining room. Our room was very clean and comfortable with several antique pieces. I couldn't resist the old claw-footed tub with all the necessities for a bubble bath.. even a rubber duckie! The breakfast was abundant and terrific. I highly recommend the Waverly Inn!

Room Tip: We liked our Silver Bell room on the second floor. We were not bothered by noise.

See more reviews on Trip Advisor >
(Page will open in a new window.)

Reviews from Yelp

    Terri R.     Westerville, OH 5.0 star rating 10/20/2013

My husband and I just stayed at the 1898 Waverly Inn in Hendersonville NC. We were very pleased with our stay. Breakfast was awesome, as they have you fill out your order when you sit down for breakfast - they have their standard items: eggs, sausage, bacon, home-fries, grits, fruit, toast, etc. PLUS, they have a daily special. You can choose whatever you want! This B&B is large enough that they have a small staff to serve you, yet still small enough to provide personal attention to you. Oh yeah, and every evening there's a social hour (I wish we would have done) and they serve a cake. Also, you just walk down the street to the main part of town and there are many, many little restaurants, pubs, ice cream parlors, etc, so no need to go driving for dinner out, if you don't want. The room was clean, beds were comfy - our room had an extra sitting room - which was very pleasant. We highly recommend this place.

    Robert R.     Waxhaw, NC  5.0 star rating 7/6/2013

Great stay.  Room was vey comfortable and staff was very nice.  Would definitely recommend and will come back.

Chloe T.    Williamston, NC  5.0 star rating 3/25/2013

ah, gorgeous house, wonderful hostess. I was in town for business and having that feeling of being at home made the rainy day fun. Thanks, Diane

See more reviews on Yelp >
(Page will open in a new window.)

Reviews from BedandBreakfast.com

Perfect girls weekend getaway!!! November 14, 2014

We stayed for three nights. The room was a lot bigger than we expected. The breakfasts were AMAZING!!! The owners made us feel like it was our home. We really enjoyed hanging out in the living room at the end of the day with a glass of wine and a piece of their homemade cake. I enjoyed working the jigsaw puzzle in the library. It was the PERFECT place to stay when visiting the Biltmore Castle!!

A charming B&B worth every penny November 09, 2014

We will never stay anywhere else in Hendersonville but the 1898 Waverly Inn. The staff are so welcoming and every detail is considered for your comfort. I was very tired from a long drive and the wine, cheese and front porch rocker created the perfect oasis. And if Ihad been more energetic, the owner was sharing all kind of interesting and helpful information in the parlor for other inquiring guests partaking of refreshments. The beds were comfortable, hot tea and cookies is a 24 hour possibility, and breakfast was delicious. John told us some great stories about days gone by since it wasn't too busy in early November. However, just a note---the color was still hanging on and the weather was quite pleasant for a stroll downtown.…

great stay great porch November 07, 2014

we made reservations for the apple festival..but found excellent hosts and great food...but finding new friends on the front porch with wine and cheese was great thanks for your hospitality will be back

Terrific Carolina Bed and Breakfast! October 31, 2014

The Waverly Inn is wonderful - absolutely wonderful! The rooms are very, very comfortable, the evening wine (try the apple wine – you are in apple country here) with cheese and crackers is a nice chance to chat with other guests and with the charming owners. Breakfast was outstanding! One morning we had pecan pancakes and the next pumpkin bread French toast! Anytime you may help yourself to a piece of homemade cake…one of the owners is a terrific baker. Coffee and hot chocolate also are available anytime. The central location makes it easy to walk to downtown Hendersonville where there is so much to see and do, from great restaurants, pubs with music, an independent bookstore and many interesting and unique shops. We would highly recommend the Waverly Inn! KEP

Wonderful B&B October 29, 2014

We booked with The Waverly after we could not get reservations at our choice B&Bs in Asheville. We found them on the internet and were thankful someone had a room for us during the leaf season in the NC mountains. As it turned out, we loved the place and plan to go back again next October. Thank you for your great, friendly service and delicious breakfasts. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay.

Charm, Class, Comfort and Clean October 13, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at this gorgeous inn this past weekend. We traveled to the area to hike, apple pick and enjoy the fall leaves. We were greeted at the desk by an extremely friendly and informative woman who readily provided us with maps, information and all sorts of guides to suit our interests while we were in town. We stayed in the Ox Eyed Daisy room situated towards the rear of the inn on the third floor. The room was immaculately clean, linens were soft and comfortable and the temperature was perfect. The timing of our plans didn't work so we weren't able to enjoy the "tasting" on the front porch, but it appeared they had a lovely spread of treats along with some juices (maybe lemonade?) and wine. Guests were rocking on the wide wooden porch and enjoying the company of one another. The breakfasts are nothing shy of spectacular. A perfect menu of items to choose from, all freshly prepared - and fabulous. And the jams on the table? Try them and you'll buy them. WOW. Throughout our entire stay the consistent theme was "service". Anything we wanted, they did their best with smiles and genuine interest in our comfort and enjoyment. I would ABSOLUTELY recommend anyone staying at this inn. It is beautiful and well worth the visit.…

A Lovely Stay with Lovely Hosts September 21, 2014

I met a friend in Hendersonville for a girl's week-end of shopping and fun. We stayed in the Mount Laurel room. The B&B was lovely, inside and out. The breakfasts were delicious and our Inn Keepers were lovely. We enjoyed meeting our fellow guests at the Tasting Hour (a very nice touch). We were within a few blocks to the main shopping and restaurant area and the weather was lovely, so we walked. There are some wonderful shops in downtown Hendersonville and we tied to vista as many as we could.We had such a wonderful time, that we hope to make it an annual tradition and we would definitely stay at 1898 Waverly Inn again!

Wonderful stay! September 08, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Made wonderful new friends. We will return soon.

Linda Rollins August 14, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Waverly BB

Great Place To Stay   August 05, 2014

Would Stay There Again. Very nice reception and all the people were helpful.

Love the Waverly Inn   July 21, 2014

I love staying at the Waverly Inn when I pick up my daughter from camp. The happy hour on the sprawling front porch is a wonderful way to relax after a long drive. The homemade breakfast is awesome.

Friendly place June 15, 2014

Both the staff and other guests made our stay in Hendersonville a relaxing and welcome experience. It is a good base for visiting not only Hendersonville, but the surrounding area attractions like Asheville, Chimney Rock as well. Would recommend if visiting the area.

A very relaxing time in Hendersonville, NC June 02, 2014

Accommodations, service, and food were all excellent. The innkeepers and staff were very hospitable and gracious. We will certainly return for another visit.

Totally enjoyed our time at Waverly Inn May 30, 2014

Loved the room, the upper deck, and the breakfast !!

Home Away From Home  April 24, 2014

Darla & Staff, THANK YOU for the wonderful hospitality from each of you during our recent stay at the Waverly Inn. We had a relaxing and wonderful time in your beautiful B&B. The meals you prepared were delicious, and just thinking about that triple layer chocolate cake make me want to visit again soon. Each one there, including your staff, made us feel like family. We met some new friends at social hour and loved the "chatty chair". We recommend you to all of our traveling friends and look forward to seeing you again. Butch & Janice Reddick

A Wonderful Week at the 1898 "Waverly Inn!   April 08, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the 1898 Waverly Inn to celebrate our anniversary and it was absolutely fabulous! John, Diane, Darla and Debbie are wonderful people who couldn't do enough for us. There were special touches that set them apart--a handwritten note waiting in our room when we arrived, Darla's famous Tollhouse cookies available whenever it struck your fancy, along with a homemade cake under glass that my husband really enjoyed along with a perfect Keurig brewed cup of coffee. John's legendary breakfasts were so ample that we didn't need lunch and they were perfectly prepared (I highly recommend his omelets). Debbie was always smiling and was always available to answer questions/give directions before you headed out for the day. Darla puts out a great spread for the social hour and we enjoyed getting to know our fellow guests. Charming downtown Hendersonville is within walking distance from the Inn. The Biltmore is a mere 30 mins away--just take a left turn out of the Inn and keep going--so easy! We will definitely be returning to 1898 Waverly Inn.

See more reviews on BedandBreakfast.com  >
(Page will open in a new window.)

Review from Hotels.com

Outstanding “Terrific stay” Jul 2014

Beautiful B&B, well maintained. Great location, friendly owner and staff, comfortable rooms, TERRIFIC breakfast! Definitely coming back!

Outstanding  "convenient location"  Apr 2014

Magnificent historic home full of character and beauty. The porches are inviting and peaceful. Owners very friendly. Felt comfortable and secure. We will definitely return.

Outstanding  "Visiting Asheville, staying small town."  Apr 15, 2014

We wanted to enjoy the Asheville area and attend The Mother Earth News Fair happening just down the road, and do it in such a way as to meet the real people of the area and enjoy some southern hospitality. The 1898 Waverly Inn provided us with the perfect place to stay to enjoy ourselves. Located next to historic downtown Hendersonville, shopping and fine dining (lots of great choices) were an easy stroll away. Evening cocktails on the expansive front porch were where we met the innkeepers and those staying at the Inn as guests, sharing life stories and the day's experiences in the cool evening air. Not so surprising is the fact that guests return year after year. Breakfasts are included in the stay, and rate 5 stars for variety and quality. Guests are spoiled by the wait staff, experiencing that famous southern hospitality. The total experience of The 1898 Waverly Inn takes you back to an earlier time, where life's pace might have been a little less hectic, and more enjoyable.

Excellent  "Bed & Breakfast with History"  Mar 10, 2014

We wanted to stay at a Bed and Breakfast with history and this had it. This B&B was one of the oldest in Hendersonville so expect staying in a "old" inn with creaky floors, lovely 4 poster beds, footed-tubs from yesteryear, but also expect wonderful hostesses. The breakfast was delicious every morning with too much to choose from.

See more reviews on Hotels.com >
(Page will open in a new window.)

Reviews from Facebook

11/12/2014
My favorite place to stay in Hendersonville for over 20 years!

11/12/2014
Wonderful, cozy place to stay. The owners provided a warm, welcoming atmosphere, unique rooms and an awesome breakfast. I can only recommend it if you want to stay somewhere special.

8/17/2014
The best!

8/22/2014
This was our second visit to the Waverly Inn and am sure there will be more. Great location, within walking to the downtown shops and the downtown Flat Rock Theater. The inn is nicely done, the staff friendly and accommodating... and the breakfast is great!

5/12/2014
Great Anniversary location! Looking forward to our next visit.

8/11/2014
Great place to stay, friendly people, great food. Will go again soon!!!

5/5/2014
This was such a wonderful place to visit. The home was beautiful and the owners were so accommodating. We got a room at the last minute and it was a peaceful retreat with a cozy bed and wonderful breakfast. Definitely recommend it!!!!! I'd give it 10 stars if I could!

5/5/2014
So would I! Circumstances led us to this place at last minute and we could not have asked for anything any better! Thanks again to each one of you for the outstanding welcome and delightful stay! We will be back!

6/13/2014
I had some company visiting and I went to all the bed and breakfasts in town. This one was the very best! Great place and fantastic innkeeper!

5/05/2014
This was such a wonderful place to visit. The home was beautiful and the owners were so accommodating. We got a room at the last minute and it was a peaceful retreat with a cozy bed and wonderful breakfast. Definitely recommend it!!!!! I'd give it 10 stars if I could!

1/16/2014
We just love the Waverly. Everyone is so friendly and helpful and it is a nice homey atmosphere. Our dog likes it too!

11/13/2013
My husband and I just stayed at the 1898 Waverly this past Veterans Day weekend, our first stay at the Inn and in Hendersonville, and absolutely loved it! We had a massage on Saturday with Mandy who was a superior massage therapist with a yoga background! The staff was wonderful and the other guests were delightful to talk with at the evening wine and cheese hour! We adored the fact that we parked at the Inn on Friday and did not have to get in the car until we left on Sunday. The perfect "quaint" downtown area with a nice selection of shops and restaurants. Will definitely return!

8/1/2013
LOVE IT FOR SO MANY REASONS!!!

7/7/2013
The breakfasts, wine & cheese receptions, innkeepers & staff, location...all make the 1898 Waverly Inn THE place to stay in Hendersonville!

5/17/2013
The location is convenient, and the house is utterly charming. John, Diane, and Darla are always helpful in planning a day, an afternoon, or an evening. They always make e feel like family!

See more reviews on Facebook >
(Page will open in a new window.)